?

Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

'nother newbie :)

hi all, I'm Sophie :)

To be honest, I've been overweight for as long as I can remember. Rarely by a whole lot, but enough that getting into a size UK 12 is a fantastic feeling, and my usual clothing size is UK 16 on top (big boobs), 14 on the bottom. When I start to need size 16 jeans, I know I'm slipping again.

Before DD was conceived, I spent 6 months following Weight Watchers after realising that I'd almost hit the 80kg (13 stone or 180lb) mark. I don't like most of our wedding photos because I was clearly bigger then, and had put on more weight in the following year, so it was time a full-on diet! I went to one WW meeting, bought the books telling you how many points everything was worth, then made myself a spreadsheet at home to track the points. The result was a loss of 15kg (2 1/2 stone or ~30lb) in 6 months, and I celebrated by buying new size 12 clothes (14 on top *lol*) and a fantastic set of motorcycle leathers. They were to be my marker: if they fit, all was well, if not - time to watch what I eat for a while!

I got pregnant within the next year, and weighed about 70kg when DD was due.. and only a little less when she was born. My combo of eating habits plus breastfeeding meant that this didn't change much for a while, but when DD was 5mo I had my thyroid surgically removed due to cancer and she was weaned at 8mo so I could have radioactive treatment. Anyone requiring thyroid replacement knows how hard it is to lose weight, as this has certainly affected my metabolism, and there has been an undercurrent of generally pissed off depression too.. lots of chocolate plus crappy metabolism equals *oops* the weight's come on rather than dropping off.

At the moment I'm 1.67m (5'6") and weigh 75kg (11 3/4 stone or ~160lb), giving me a BMI of 26.5. Not the end of the world, but I know I can do better. I want to get back into those leathers, damn it (though I have just sold my motorbike in order to refit the bathroom *sigh*). I cycle to work and walk to the shops when I can, aka when the weather is ok, because inevitably both sorts of trip require me to take DD (now 2) along for the ride.

So, watching what I eat.. Next Friday I'm off to my French grandparents' for a week, so don't expect me to be able to make much progress until I get back! Mamie's cooking is too good, though I will try not to put any more weight on :)

Yikes, that turned into a big of an essay - sorry!

Soph xx

P.S. I prefer metric, but was taught by teachers who didn't quite get it. Add this to an English dad, a French mum, brought up in mostly imperial UK but spending a lot of time in metric-loving countries like Australia and NZ, and you get my mangled usage of height/weight forms of measurement. Doh!

Comments

( 1 comment — Leave a comment )
(Deleted comment)
sophiedb
Aug. 3rd, 2009 09:09 am (UTC)
I think she was actually 6mo when the thyroid came out, but defo 5mo for the first op (removing the cyst that led to the discovery of the cancer). Sadly I've recently seen another new mum on the LJ comm for thyroid cancer, poor woman.

I'm so looking forward to France! Will try to be good, but... that's going to be hard :)
( 1 comment — Leave a comment )

Profile

newmumbumandtum
Peer support for post-pregnancy body changes

Latest Month

August 2009
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Kenn Wislander